CAPSTONE TEA & FONDUE – 160 – 9020 Capstan Way, Richmond, BC V6X1R4 – (778)297-5007

10 May

A dash of exhaustion.  A smidgen of self-defeat.  A pinch of anxiety.  A spoonful of confusion.  That was me approximately three weeks ago.  Burnt out.

I have a higher tendency than the average person to experience burn-out mainly because I have a slew of health issues that tend to pop up from time to time.  It’s exhausting trying to deal with those issues while juggling a full workload.  In this case, the particular health issue was asthma season.  It happens roughly between March-May of every year, then September-October, coinciding with seasonal change.  It was particularly bad this year for some reason; it was literally becoming almost impossible for me to breathe at many points in time.  Sadly, in these cases, it’s often my extra-curricular activities that have to get cut.  In this case, it was dashtodine.

Anyways, I think the worst is over.  Fondue, anyone?

Me and the foodie crew roll up in our car and begin to walk towards Capstone’s, an allegedly excellent place to pig out on Cheese or Chocolate Fondue.  Once we enter the place, we immediately notice the class and simple panache of the place.  Mirrors line the walls of the place.  Perfect for an exceedingly vain person to admire his or herself.  I stroll over to the mirrors and admire the view.  God I’m beautiful.  Well, in my mind at least.

“I love how tea is often given weird exotic menu descriptions that make you believe that you’re gaining some sort of unique super-power, depending upon which flavour you happen to choose.”

We pick a table and our amicable waiter drops by and offers us suggestions as to what to get.  Choosing between devouring a Chocolate waterfall and a Cheese waterfall is a tough call.

Chocolate it is.

Tea is also served before the Fondue makes its first appearance.  I love how tea is often given weird exotic menu descriptions that make you believe that you’re gaining some sort of unique super-power, depending upon which flavour you happen to choose.  I choose my super-power.  Green tea.

Maybe I’ll turn into a Ninja Turtle.  Or perhaps my skin will become exfoliated, and I’ll have increased powers of concentration and have the first peaceful night’s sleep I’ve had in years.

I’d still rather be a Ninja Turtle.

The Tea is served unsweetened, which brings out its natural and supposedly therapeutic properties.  It’s good for the first few sips but then becomes tiresome.  It would be nice to have the option of sweetening it. 

The condiments are brought out.  Matcha Cookies (well that’s what they look like), Banana Bread, Lemon Loaf, Apple Slices, Strawberries, Bananas, Pineapples and Grapes make their foray into our table.  Chocolate swimming pools are then presented to us individually, each cupped in a delicate vase with a candle underneath to maintain the warmth.  Elegant.  Classy.  This is definitely something I like.

Each condiment complements the Chocolate surprisingly well.  The fruits are all Chocolate-compatible, the Cookies plain enough to still carry the Mocha overtones, and Pastries take on a new life of their own once dipped in the Cocoa ponds.

All in all, a great way to get back into the fray of Foodie adventures.

Capstone Tea & Fondue (Richmond) on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “CAPSTONE TEA & FONDUE – 160 – 9020 Capstan Way, Richmond, BC V6X1R4 – (778)297-5007”

  1. Carmen May 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    So tasty.

    • Steven May 12, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

      Like you wouldn’t believe. Little Chocolate swimming pools. Always a win.

Leave a comment