DIPLOMAT BAKERY – 6111 London Road, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (604) 241-9134

6 Mar

PRICE RANGE:  $4 – $30, and perhaps your very soul.

Diplomat is located in a quiet area, laid back area.  Farmland surrounds the little neighbourhood it has taken residence in.  Despite its relatively isolated location, business seems to be going strong due to a growing reputation (especially amongst the Filipino community) as one of Richmond’s favourite sweet shops.

A bakery with a café style feel that provides seating for customers to stay and relax, the general vibe of the place is that of a neighbourhood gathering place.  The crowd consists mainly of elderly folks with annoying younger people (read: me and my foodie partners) occasionally popping in.

This place is like an art gallery.  For food.  Just feast your eyes on the multitude of mouth-gasm inducing items on the shelves, all just begging to be consumed.  Perfection.

“I cradle it in my arms with what I imagine would be the tenderness I would display to my first born-child…”

All of the items look incredibly good, but one thing in particular catches my eye today; the red velvet cake.  It’s fuzzy and red.  I know, it’s gimmicky.  Well, I guess my tastes just aren’t that sophisticated yet.

“One slice to go, please!”

They present me with a neat little white box.  I cradle it in my arms with what I imagine would be the tenderness I would display to my first born-child, and gently tip-toe to the car not wanting to disturb the contents inside.

My foodie crew drops me back home, and I display the same attention, love and care as I unwrap the contents, place it on a plate, and put on some romantic music.  Yes, I am a romantic at heart, and food can sometimes serve as a surrogate mistress.

I take a bite.

It was okay.

Just kidding.  It was pretty good.  Go grab some for your self!

Diplomat Bakery on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “DIPLOMAT BAKERY – 6111 London Road, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (604) 241-9134”

  1. helen March 6, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    the red velvet cake was so yummy !!! i didnt want to share it with my niece or nephew haha. definitely a must visit for diplomat cake shop

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Haha, I felt exactly the same way. I hoarded the cake all to myself 🙂

  2. Julian March 6, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Wow this bakery looks very appealing. The treats that they provide look really good, especially the red velvet cake which is one of favorites. I would really like to check it out since it has a selection of good food. And on the plus side it seems like a really good place to hang out.

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      It’s great for a laid-back afternoon with friends! I’m sure you’ll love it!

  3. Jackie March 7, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    For years, Diplomat Bakery has won awards for their cheesecake. I’d recommend the strawberry cheesecake!

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      Great suggestion! Being a cheesecake fan, it’s definitely something I’ll have to cover in the future!

  4. Sofia March 7, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    ahhh! chocolate butter croissant just MELTS in your mouth! yummmmmmmmm! just thinking about it now makes me drool!

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Ahh! Now you’re making me do the same! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

