JANG MO JIB – 8320 Alexandra Road, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (604) 233-0712

4 Mar

PRICE RANGE: $15-$30

The restaurant itself is something beautiful to behold.  Sporting a rustic Korean feel, it’s apparent that the restaurateurs take the ‘Korean’ in the Korean cuisine quite seriously.  White walls with dark wooden framing give this place an authentic feel, and the dining area feels like a terrace without actually being one.

The lighting is beautiful in this area, providing a relaxing, laid back atmosphere that suits friendly gatherings or dates.

I’m actually a little late to this gathering.  Having come from a long day at work I’m pretty much sprinting into the dining area to find my friends bored and waiting for me.  A pretty common occurrence.  You’ll learn that about me.

Delicate smells waft in the air.  Kimchee, spices, and herbal aromas greet our noses and a server comes to visit our table.

You know what I need?  A beer.

A popular Korean beer, CASS, is suggested to me.  Sounds vaguely familiar.  Sure, I’ll take it.  It’s poured into a little glass, and I take a gulp.  Smooth.  Kinda like a Corona…but from the Orient.  Intriguing.

The people I’m with order a Coke and water.  Lame.

“Delicate smells waft in the air.  Kimchee, spices, and herbal aromas greet our noses and a server comes to visit our table.”

My eyes scroll through the menu and pick out something interesting… I can’t pronounce it, but I’m told by a friend, a pseudo-regular, that it’s really good.  I can’t pronounce it for the life of me.  Our server rolls his eyes as I try to speak fake Korean, struggling to pronounce the dish’s name.  I get it, server, you have listen to this dozens of times a day.

First the side dishes arrive.  Korean sweet potato (the yellow stuff), Kimchee, Tofu, and legumes.  Well executed, none of them proving to be overpowering, and staying true to the way they are meant taste.  My spider-sense detects little or no MSG; I don’t feel the crippling thirst that monosodium glutamate (read: a tool for the weak) leaves behind.

The sweet potato has a fine texture, firm, yet melt in-your-mouth, the kimchee sports the regular spicy zing with a slightly salty after-taste; invigorating.  Tofu, is well, tofu.  I’m not a tofu connoisseur.  It tasted okay to me.  Legumes added a fresh finish to the side dishes.

Finally the main dish arrives, which can be described primarily as a variety bowl of awesome.  The ingredients are separated and are as follows: rice noodles, sea weed, fried beef, bean sprouts, an egg, and miscellaneous veggies.  You can either mix them all together and create a gorgeous stew, or you can eat each ingredient separately; I tried both and it tastes great either way!

The enjoyment on my face was apparent.  As our server stopped by to ask how our meals were, I, for a brief moment, think he forgave and forgot the awful Korean that came out of my mouth as I tried to order the dishes.

Jang Mo Jib (Alexandra Rd) on Urbanspoon

12 Responses to “JANG MO JIB – 8320 Alexandra Road, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada (604) 233-0712”

  1. Cynthia Karlsson March 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Great review Steven. I will make a point of dining there next time I am in Richmond.

    • dashtodine87 March 6, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      So glad an old friend is still keeping up with whatever banter I have to write! Thanks so much for reading! Tell me how it goes!

  2. Ramon March 5, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Went there this past evening! Loved the suggestions!

    • dashtodine87 March 6, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      Great to hear it made for an enjoyable time.

  3. Brandon Luu March 6, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    This sounds like a great place. I love Korean food but haven’t gone in awhile. Definitely going to give this place a look.

    • dashtodine87 March 6, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      Glad to hear this post was helpful, and thank you so much for your support!

  4. Max March 6, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Wonderful post. Very descriptive. Will definitely check this place out when I’m in the neighbourhood.

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Great to hear it was able to help you out. Let me know how your trip goes!

  5. Thai March 6, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    two thumbs up! +1

    • dashtodine87 March 8, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Thanks for the feedback! Glad you liked it!

  6. Princessa March 8, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I would like to try the beer next time. Maybe it tastes like the hot sauce! Hehe

    • dashtodine87 March 10, 2012 at 2:14 am #

      Haha, like hot sauce, beer can be a refined taste!

Leave a Reply

