CAFE CREPE – 796 Granville St. Vancouver, BC, Canada (604) 806-0834 ‎

13 Apr

PRICE: $4-10

Many of you already know that taking photos is now my new phobia, thanks to an unfortunate circumstance that can be described here.  However, I’ve done my best to learn from being kicked out of a restaurant and now try to politely ask as before I point and shoot (with a camera, nothing else, I swear!).  Often times my question is greeted with a raised eyebrow, followed by awkward hesitation, followed by the usual “uh…let me get my manager” spiel.  It’s pretty tiring to deal with

Fortunately, there are occasions when I meet people who are just dying to get themselves on camera.  There are a few good sports out there when it comes to taking photos, and I was lucky enough to encounter them during my visit to Café Crepe.

So let’s fast forward.  I’m at the entrance to the outlet and I approach the cook on duty regarding a possible photo-op.

“There are a few good sports out there when it comes to taking photos, and I was lucky enough to encounter them during my visit to Café Crepe.”

Mind you, as I’m talking, I’m still being given the ‘deer in the headlights’ look, but eventually a certain kind of playfulness is awakened when the manager comes forward to give the okay.

After the modelling session finishes, I’m pleased to sit down on a patio (for the second time this year the weather was cooperative on my day off work) and enjoy some chow with a friend.

Two Crepes arrive on the hand-out plane.  I grab both, one in each hand.  A Prosciutto and Brie Cheese Crepe and a Smoked Meat Crepe adorned with Dijon Mustard and Swiss Cheese.  A Soy Mocha to drink and a scoop of Ice Cream to finish.

After I’ve brought them back to the patio, me and my foodie compatriot begin to munch, catch up with each other and enjoy the weather.

The Crepes are savoury and satisfying.  Prosciutto and Brie Cheese complement each other quite well, with a strong salty punch from the Prosciutto giving way to the smoother, more balanced, savoury sensation of the Cheese.  Smoked Meat provides a wistful taste of Montreal while the Dijon Mustard and Swiss Cheese deliver the Vinegary and subtle Cheese aftertaste.

The Soy Mocha is pretty meh.  The Chocolate isn’t very defined in taste.  It feels more like drinking a Latte.

The Ice Cream is generic Vanilla, but still satisfying.

After having finished a good snack, I look at the staff who are now busy handling the late-noon rush.

They’re still smiling for the camera.

Cafe Crepe (Granville & Robson) on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “CAFE CREPE – 796 Granville St. Vancouver, BC, Canada (604) 806-0834 ‎”

  1. lookingforpemberley April 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Looks yummy! I’ve added you to my blogroll :D

    • Steven April 17, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      Thank you so much! Incredibly happy that this is providing some sort of enjoyment for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

