PHO 99 VIETNAMESE NOODLE HOUSE – 8611 Alexandra Rd, Richmond, BC, Canada (604) 278-6363

10 Apr

PRICE: $5-15

Here we go.  We go through a small alley way and find ourselves in a dark parking lot.  It feels isolated.  Almost shady.  We park our pick-up truck.  Yes, we are probably the only Asians in the Lower Mainland that use a pick-up truck.  Feeling like a team of yellow hillbillies, we walk towards our destination.  It’s a dirty, dank looking building.  There’s a sign that tells us to enter through the back door.  I feel like I’m about to take part in a drug deal.

We open the door, and I’m expecting to find of dudes dressed in baggy clothes and wearing distastefully large amounts of bling.

We crack the door open a bit further.

I’m pleased to find that instead of baggy-clothed criminals, I’m greeted by a variety of lily-pads sitting atop a small water fountain.  Coconut trees line the walls.  White tiles populate the floors, and small tables are dispersed throughout the room.  They have a simple economic look, with black chairs standing by them.

“I’m pleased to find that instead of baggy-clothed criminals, I’m greeted by a variety of lily-pads sitting atop a small water fountain.”

We sit down, pop up the menus, and begin to order.  Afterwards, we sit back and wait.  The evening entertainment consists of us trying to figure out what our hosts are gossiping about in Vietnamese.  Boyfriends?  Friends?  Us?  Eh, this game is too much work.  Instead, I start dubbing in sentences over their mouths in my imagination.  Like the badly translated version of a Chinese movie dubbed in English.

“God, who is that handsome looking guy?  He’s like the best parts of Robert Downey Jr, Brad Pitt, and Bruce Lee rolled into an economic, five foot four package!”

“Well I’ll be damned, you’re looking at Steven!  He’s only been here for about two minutes, but by God, he’s the best thing that’s entered my life.”

I much prefer it when I’m in control of the gossip that’s coming out of their mouths.

“Your order, sir.”

I snap back to reality.

“Uhm…thanks!”

Beef Ball Pho Noodle Soup.  Served with Bean Sprouts, Mint Leaves, and miscellaneous Veggies, it’s great for a cold night after work.  Nothing extraordinary about it, but it gets the job done.  The texture is the familiar broth-like Vietnamese soup, with the Pho Noodles and Beef Balls providing the main substance of the course. 

The next course is Grilled Pork, Vermicelli, and Spring Rolls.  The Pork has the barbecued savoury-sweet taste, and is pleasant to indulge in.  Vermicelli provides the carbs and a little bit of filler and the Spring Rolls have a little bit of Shrimp, Ground Pork, and Veggies to provide a complementary bite.  Veggies decorate the sides of the bowl.

We finish up our meals and sit back.  Now it’s our turn to gossip.

What might we be gossiping about you might ask?  Beats me.  Lip dub it in your head.

 

Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House (Richmond) on Urbanspoon

6 Responses to “PHO 99 VIETNAMESE NOODLE HOUSE – 8611 Alexandra Rd, Richmond, BC, Canada (604) 278-6363”

  1. Princessa April 10, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Dined here years ago & I remembered the coconut trees and lights amused me!

    • Steven April 10, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      They’re great! Feels like a tropical getaway!

  2. Mary April 10, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    you did a great job in photographing the food as well. Together with your write up, I may check this place out with my frineds.

    • Steven April 11, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Glad to hear the photography was up to scratch! I always try to make an effort to make the photos as captivating as I can!

  3. C April 12, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    i dig this place for its combos. it ripped off the wording in its menu from pho hoa word for word though -_-

    • Steven April 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      LOL! Funny you should say that, because when I was looking at the menu, I experienced a little bit of deja vu for a moment. Guess it wasn’t just me :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

