AMATO GELATO CAFE – Suite 100-5951 No. 3 Rd Richmond, BC, Canada (604) 231-5885

3 Apr

PRICE: $3.50-$9

Cold, damp, and wet.  Those words pretty much sum up the majority of the weather today.  Having been a resident of British Columbia’s Lower Mainland for virtually all of my life, this is really no surprise to me at all, but nevertheless, it still carries with it that same dispiriting feeling.  I mean, it is April.  It’s pretty much the middle of spring, and we’re still not really getting anything well, spring-y as far as the weather goes.  I’ve had enough of this.  I’m setting out to change things.

So that’s what has brought me to where I am at this very moment, standing in front of Amato Gelato Café, which holds a certain type of food that no one in their right mind would consume in winter conditions.  Ice Cream.

Centuries ago, it was a common practice for Aboriginal people to gather in large groups and dance, chant, and sing.  They would perform these rituals for long periods of time in hopes of summoning rain.  People have referred to this ritual as the ‘Rain Dance.’  I’m about to do something similar.  I’m about to do a ‘Sun Dance’.

“The vendor looks at me.  I must look like I’m trying to do the spoon-feeding ‘heeeere comes the airplane!!’ routine on a toddler.  Except that toddler is myself.”

How does a ‘Sun Dance’ work, you may ask?  Well it’s really quite simple.  I get the most summery dessert of all (ice cream), sit back, enjoy it, and wave the Ice Cream Cone around like Harry Potter trying to cast a spell.  I’m hoping this ritual will magically fix our crappy weather conditions and morph them into something summer-like.  I’ll be willing to settle for spring-like though.

Entering Amato Gelato’s, I bear witness to the extraordinary amount of Ice Cream flavours I have to choose from.  An entire gallery of Ice Cream sits behind the glass display counters.  I step forward and rub my chin like a Sherlock Holmes attempting to deduce the perfect way to summon the summer weather.

There it is.  Coconut Sorbet.  What’s more tropical and summery than a Coconut?  Nothing.   That’s what.

I place my order for a scoop.  The vendor gives me an awesome, gigantic scoop atop a waffle cone.  Perfect.

I make my way to a table and begin devouring the sucker for all it’s worth.  Sweet Coconut flavours permeate my palette and provide a cool, refreshing and tasty experience.   Mmmm.  Summoning the summer gods is fun.  Oh wait, I forgot the dancing part.  I wave my cone around in figure eights.  The vendor looks at me.  I must look like I’m trying to do the spoon-feeding ‘heeeere comes the airplane!!’ routine on a toddler.  Except that toddler is myself.  The embarrassment is painful, but hey, whoever said that doing something as important as the Sun Dance was easy?  I suck it up, and continue tracing the magical figure in the air.

Finally having slurped a great deal of the refreshing and creamy Coconut Sorbet, I’m down to the cone.  The waffle crunches pleasantly in my mouth.  Light tasting, sweet, and crunchy.  The sun has to come up now.

After a great dealing of slurping, licking, and crunching, I look out the window.  It’s no longer raining.  The sky is actually beginning to clear up.  However, it is still cold and chilly.  I look at my empty hands.  Hmm.  Maybe if I have another cone, those problems will disappear…

The Sun Dance resumes.

Amato Gelato Cafe on Urbanspoon

7 Responses to “AMATO GELATO CAFE – Suite 100-5951 No. 3 Rd Richmond, BC, Canada (604) 231-5885”

  1. Patty April 3, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Ice cream looks good! It’s been a while since I had a waffle cone! Now I’m craving some!

    • Steven April 5, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Yeah, the weather is starting to look like ice-cream worthy material! The craving is happening for me too!

  2. Andrew April 4, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    I’m craving that crunchy cone now, sounds delicious!

    • Steven April 5, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Me too :D !!!
      It’s the first sunny day in ages here in the Lower Mainland, think I might stop by Amato’s again!

  3. Helen April 4, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    ice cream! yummy

  4. mikesretirementplan April 4, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Too funny, and I thought I was the only one that played with my food. I have actually done that sun dance before, and to make matters worse, it was with my wife present, and I was sticking the cone in her nose. She was the one looking at me like I was an idiot or something. Some people have no sense of humor. But I still got a laugh out of her. I wish my ice cream parlor had coconut sorbet though, but sadly not. I had to settle for pineapple.

    • Steven April 5, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Mike, picturing a fellow sun-dancer (especially one that had an audience) made me grin like an idiot! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

