LA GRILL & BISTRO – 128 – 8100 No. 2 Road, Richmond, BC, Canada, (604) 277-8355

16 Mar

PRICE: $7-$15

“Are we there yet?”  This phrase has been repeated almost a dozen times now.  It is slowly driving me insane.  You’d think that walking to a parked car is really not a big deal, but for some I suppose it can be a trek to Mount Everest.  Being foodies is such hard work sometimes.  As we finally make our way to my car, we load up and make our way to LA Grill, a cozy, chilled out Steak-House minus the Steak-House prices.

Upon entering the joint, we’re guided pretty quickly to our seats.  Windows surround us, giving us a nice view of what remains one of the only sunny days we’ve had in the Greater Vancouver Area in aeons.  Yes, AEONS.  Sunlight creeps in and the reflections dance on our table.  Servers in cute black dresses come and ask us what drinks we need and hand us a menu.  I’m in the mood for something diabetic.

“Coke please!”

The Coke arrives.  My partners have ordered water.  How boring.  I secretly hope that it’s diabetic water.

We peruse the menu and are shocked.  Nothing here costs more than $15!  But, this is, in fact, a Steak House right?  This is simply too good to be true.  There must be a catch.  Well, guess I’ll find out soon enough now won’t I?

“My partners have ordered water.  How boring.  I secretly hope that it’s diabetic water.”

After our orders are placed, the food begins to arrive, starting with the appetizer.  Nachos with Salsa and Sour Cream.  I know it’s not very fancy, but hey, it gets the job done.  The Salsa Sauce is subtle and balanced in its flavour.  I think it’s home-made.  Win.  The Sour Cream is merely okay.  Passing grade.  The Nachos themselves are lightly salted and light.  I think they are Que Pasa Chips.  I like Que Pasa Chips.

The main courses begin to arrive.  The LA Burger lands by our cutlery.  Bacon, Melted Cheddar Cheese, and what appears to be Mushroom Cream Sauce adorn this Burger Patty.  Surrounded by Baked Potatoes and a Salad, this entrée provides a satisfying punch.  Nothing super creative, but it gets the job done in its own right.

The New York Steak arrives.  The portion of Steak is small, but it does taste pretty good.  Seared and served with a sweet & savoury Sauce, the chef has also done a pretty good job cooking it exactly the way we wanted it, which is obviously an extremely important part of the process.  Unfortunately it doesn’t happen as often as you’d think.  Especially for cheaper Steak joints.  Fortunately, this does not prove to be the case here.  While the portion of Steak is good, it is a little small.  However, they more than make up for that little fault by providing a massive amount of sides.  Pilau Rice, Caesar Salad and Garlic Bread do a great job of complementing the Steak, and filling us up.

The Peppercorn Steak arrives.  I eat happily for a few minutes.   Then I realize something.

“This is a New York Steak.”

I am initially angered.  How dare they serve me New York Steak when I ordered Peppercorn?!  Don’t they know who I am?!  A friggin’ FOODIE!!!

I take a few more bites and chew angrily.  Oh well.  It tastes pretty good.  Yeah, I guess I don’t mind.

All in all, aside from the mis-order, it was a good dining experience.  Not the greatest food, but definitely the best low-priced Steak-House I’ve been to in a long time.  Best bang for the buck.  ‘Nuff said.

LA Grill and Bistro on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “LA GRILL & BISTRO – 128 – 8100 No. 2 Road, Richmond, BC, Canada, (604) 277-8355”

  1. Serafin March 17, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    Good write up thoroughly enjoyed
    not a dull moment at all

    • Steven March 17, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the support!

  2. mindo240 March 17, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    The burgers there are really good. The patties are homemade. This place definitely can’t be called a steak house though.

    • Steven March 17, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      Yeah, it’s pretty debatable considering how small the steaks are. Whatever, though, I liked it so I’ll let them have it.

  3. luis lopa March 20, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    i’ve eaten here a couple of times. your review is spot on. good bang for your buck. they serve decent, wholesome (?) food, at reasonable prices. during the summer the patio is a nice place to enjoy a beer/have lunch.

    • Steven March 20, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Glad we could come to an agreement! Hanging out on that patio is definitely a priority on my to-do list. Can’t wait for the summer!

  4. Mary March 29, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    have been curious about this resto for a long time. now I feel brave enough to give it a try.

    • Steven March 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

