WELL TEA – Suite 170-4811 Hazelbridge Way, Richmond, BC (604) 278-7268

15 Mar

PRICE: $6-$30

It’s cold and dark tonight.  Rain is pouring through the cracks and crags of the wet pavement.  All that’s needed is lightning and thunder to start cracking their respective whips at us.  Seems like a scene straight out of a horror movie.  I think I need something bright, cheery, and friendly looking to lift me up.  A Bubble-Tea place, I think, is something that would do that just fine.

We drive up to Well Tea, a rather small and unremarkable looking joint, at least from the outside.  I’m skeptical.  Is this a joke?  I feel as if my friend is setting me up with an ugly date.

“Just trust me, man.”

Alright.  Sure.  We step inside and you know what?  I realize how shallow I’m being.  You just can’t judge a book by its cover.  Well, at least in the case of Well Tea that is.  I was expecting the inside to be garish and brightly coloured to an excessive degree, a  common fault of most Bubble Tea joints.  These places seem to enjoy hiring clown serial-killers to decorate their interiors.  Luckily, what I receive is very different from what I was expecting.

The place is brightly lit with thin, cylindrical lamp-lights hanging around like fireflies.  We’re greeted at the entrance by an elegant looking bamboo fountain.  Bamboo-style vegetation seems to be a common decorative theme in this place. Brown padded leather chairs and beige tables sit atop the sleek hardwood floor.  Encased in the floor are little glass compartments containing bamboo artwork.  Neat-o.   I just love the idea of walking on something so Feng-Shui. 

“These places seem to enjoy hiring clown serial-killers to decorate their interiors.  Luckily, what I receive is very different from what I was expecting.”

Let’s get to business.  The menus open up and we order some fancy sounding drinks.  Lavender  Green Tea with Tapioca Noodles.  Fresh Taro Slush.

They arrive pretty quickly and we sample them.  The Lavender Green Tea lives up to its name and provides a sweet aromatic experience with a bright after-taste of, you guessed it, Lavender.  The Tapioca Noodles go great with it, (better than Tapioca Pearls) because they are easier to drink, yet provide that same refreshing and gooey chewing sensation.

The Fresh Taro Slush is an icy good experience.  The light-purple Taro has an almost glow-y aesthetic to it.  It’s like a lava lamp in stasis.  A pleasure to look at, and an even greater pleasure to drink.  The Ice and the Juice mingle together perfectly; there is no separation between the Juice content and the Ice, as commonly seen in cheaper Slushes (“Auugh! Why is there nothing but Ice where my drink used to be?!”).  The subtle-sweet taste of Taro proves to be refreshingly light.  Bubble-Tea places have a tendency to make their Slushes waaay too sweet.  Thankfully this drink does not suffer from this problem.

We order up some chow.  It’s cold so we’re craving something soupy.  We order the House Special.  We have the option to create our own Noodle Soup Entrees.  I choose Beef Soup, Yellow Noodles, and Pork Slices, Pork Intestines, and Pork Balls to top it all off.  We’ll call it BYPPP for short.  I’m all about killing pigs.  My compatriot summons up Miso Soup, Udon Noodles, Beef Slices, Squid Balls, and Mushrooms (MUBSM).  Should be interesting.

My BYPPP makes its entrance onto the table.  I try it.  Holy CRAP that’s spicy.  I have a few more bites.  And salty too.  It’s initially quite shocking because I’m not really expecting it to be like this.  I don’t recall ordering Spice.  I ask my foodie compatriot and he assures me that I’m just being a pussy, and that this is the norm.  Hmm. Well I guess I’ll  have to start getting out more.  I keep sampling the Chow and after getting over the initial shock, the flavour begins to grow on me.  Alright.  This is what exotic food tastes like.

The MUBSM makes its way to our table and we give that a spin.  A more subtle down-to-earth savoury flavour.  Drenched in Miso, and decorated with a variety of Beef and Seafood overtones (the Squid Balls are AWESOME), this is the dish that I really should’ve ordered.  It’s good.  Not too salty, a more mellow yet savoury dish.  Win.

“Hey check out who’s over at that window.”

“Okay.  A girl.  What about her?”

“Ehehe, look at where she’s looking.”

My partner points just behind me to a couple.  They look good together.  I’m still confused though.

“Haha, she’s been there the WHOLE night.  Looks like she’s trying to see what kinds of extra-curricular activities her man is up to.”

Duh.  How could I have not noticed?  Looks like a player is going to be hating the game, ‘cause he’s about to find himself in a whole lot of trouble.  (Say that with a ghetto accent)

So how about that?  Great drinks, solid food, AND dramatic entertainment.  What else more could you ask for in a Bubble Tea joint?

We walk past the entrance after having paid our hosts and go outside.  The girl is STILL peering angrily into the window, and from the looks of it, her soon-to-be ex still hasn’t noticed.  She’d make a good Private-Eye.

Well Tea 茶井 (Richmond) on Urbanspoon

6 Responses to “WELL TEA – Suite 170-4811 Hazelbridge Way, Richmond, BC (604) 278-7268”

  1. Mandy March 15, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Tea and noodle! What more to ask for? Yum! :)

    • Steven March 15, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      Not to mention the entertainment drawn from the suspenseful moments of the night! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. jumpmanhat March 15, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Sounds like a nice place for a refreshing bubble tea!

    • Steven March 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      That and some dating drama :D

  3. sorealtonight March 15, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

